Who We Are
Home Plans & Goals Who We Are Historic Districts Projects Links Fort Assinniboine

Meeting Times

Meet 3rd Wednesday, 4-5pm, Havre-Hill County Library (subject to change, check Havre Daily News)


The Havre/Hill County Historic Preservation Commission was created in 2003 by City of Havre resolution 3410 and Hill County resolution #03-1949 to establish a local historic program.  This plan was prepared by the Commission, with the assistance of Bear Paw Development, during a series of meetings held from October 2007 through May 2008.

Size and Structure

Number of members shall be at least five (5) and shall be nominated by the Commission with two (2) appointed by the Mayor with approval of the Havre City Council and two (2) appointed by the Hill County Commissioners.  All other members may be appointed by a simple majority of the seated Commission members.

Current Members:

County Appointee:

Lynda Taplin since 2008, December 2015-19(Member at Large)
PO Box 1746
Havre, Montana 59501

Debbie Vandeberg since 2006, December 2015-2019(Member at Large) 
Box 308
Havre Mt 59501
265-7532, 265-4383


Commission Appointees:

Candi Zion since 2006, March 2014-2018 (Historian)
PO Box 122
Winifred, MT 59489
(406)899-6513 jslive@mtintouch.net 

Jillian Allen, October 2015-2019 (Member at Large)
535 2nd Avenue
Havre, MT 59501

City Appointee:

Keith Doll since 2007, January 2016-2018 202
3rd Street
Havre, Montana 59501
(406) 265-9052

Wade Bitz since 2008, February 2016-2018 (Local Historian, Member at Large) (Architectural Historian)
511 11TH Street
Havre, MT 59501
(406) 352-4785, 899-2202

Historic Preservation Officers:

Becki Miller HPO since 2008, August 2011-2019 (Architect)
P.O. Box 21
Gildford, Montana 59525
(406) 376-3228 bdmiller@mtintouch.net



Principal Office

The principal office of the Commission shall be in Havre, Hill County, Montana, with its office at 130 5th Avenue, Havre, MT  59501, until otherwise changed by the Commission.  The Commission may also have offices at such other places as the Commission may from time to time designate.


2011 Havre-Hill County Historic Preservation Commission
Hosted by Triangle Communications

best with